ALDERSGATE’S LEADERSHIP TEAM

In June 2017, Aldersgate adopted a new model of leadership, with 13 lay leaders together doing the work of leading the church. In the past, there were numerous committees and councils, and it was both difficult and time-consuming to gather everyone for all the meetings that model required.

Members of the Leadership Team, July 2020-June 2021

Paul Amos (pamos703@gmail.com), Lay Leader
Vivian Baxter, Youth representative
Rachel Franks Davis (rfranksdavis@gmail.com), Young Adult representative
Hank Henderson (harold.p.henderson@gmail.com), Trustees lead
Pandy Jansen (pandyj1@yahoo.com), Connections lead
Mark Husband (davidmark.husband@gmail.com), Staff-Parish Relations Committee lead
Karen Latta (klatta@fourthwave.com), United Methodist Women representative
Ed Little (elittle956.com), Finance lead and United Methodist Men representative
Sarah Lynn Mertins (slmertins@verizon.net), Missions lead
Caryn Souza ( caryn.souza@gmail.com), Worship lead
Shari Van Buren (shari_van_buren@hotmail.com), Spiritual Formation lead

Pastors
Randy Orndorff (rorndorff@aldersgate.net), Lead Pastor
Emily Moore-Diamond (emily@aldersgate.net), Pastor
 

Staff
Terri Phillips (tphillips@aldersgate.net), Administrative Director, Recording Secretary

Nominations and Leadership Development

Members of the Leadership Team are to be spiritually mature Christ-followers who are passionate about the mission and vision of Aldersgate and spiritually gifted and called to be part of this team. The Leadership Team will consist of 15 lay members serving in three rotating classes. The Lead Pastor, appointed Associate Pastor(s), Director of Communications, and Administrative Assistant are permanent ex-officio members of the Leadership Team.

The lay members of the Leadership Team are nominated by the Nominations Committee for election at a Charge Conference held in June, with their terms beginning on July 1. Persons who discern that they may be called by God to serve on the Leadership Team will complete a Profile Application and Spiritual Gifts Inventory and may be interviewed by the existing Leadership Team members as part of the discernment and nominating process.

Download the 2020-2021 Leadership Team Description, Profile Form, and Leadership Covenant

Meetings of the Leadership Team

The Leadership Team is scheduled to meet the third Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m., although sometimes circumstances require the meeting to be rescheduled or postponed. Meeting dates and times are announced to the congregation at least one week before the meeting.

Summary results of the meetings are posted below.

© 2021 Aldersgate UMC

© 2021 Aldersgate UMC

1301 Collingwood Road Alexandria, VA 22308
office@aldersgate.net  p: (703) 765 6555   f: (703) 765 5841

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram